Gone so Fast

When I look at you
my heart weeps
because there is so much more
I want to give.

But it all goes by so fast.

So it comes to this,
what I can give
and what I can make
from all that is left,
in what little time we have.

See the world is something new,
today unlike the past,
and of all the debts you accue
this love comes free of charge.

But it all goes by so fast.

It’s no little thing,
to see in you heart simplicity,
and let your soul be guiding.

No, it won’t waste,
it won’t fall behind,
because it’s one with the universe,
It’s you’re free ride.

But it all goes by so fast.

Watching you grow
has taught me more,
and of all that I can give,
is some comfort for you in yours.

So make peace with it
and with a prayer to take along,
what you love hold close,
for soon it will all be gone.

Because it all goes by so fast.


Poetry by James Griffin.

Image credit to JenDigitalArt, Pixabay.

Leave a comment